DUI Charges in South Carolina

DUI Charges in South Carolina

Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is a very serious offense, because it puts not only you in danger, but also the others around you. South Carolina takes this seriously, and you may suffer the consequences depending on the gravity of your case.

It is a difficult situation to be in, because it can greatly affect your future, like your employment opportunities. For this reason, it is important to get the help of legal professionals, like the Columbia DUI defense lawyers at Truslow & Truslow.

But what exactly are the different types of DUI charges? You should at least know them so you would have an idea what you are dealing with.

1st Offense DUI Charge

It is important to note that your blood alcohol concentration, also known as BAC, is a very important factor in determining the consequences of your case. In your first offense, if your BAC is 0.08% or above, you are required to pay $400 to $1,000 as fine, go to jail for 48 hours to 90 days, and suspend your license for 6 months.

2nd Offense DUI Charge

For your second offense, you must pay $2,100 to $6,500 as fine, go to jail for 5 days to 3 years, and suspend you license for 2 years, depending again on your BAC, starting from 0.08%.

3rd Offense DUI Charge

A third offense requires a fine of $3,800 to $10,000, jail time of 60 days to 5 years, and license suspension of 2 years. License suspension can go up to 4 years if the third offense has been done within five years since the first offense.

4th Offense DUI Charge

A fourth DUI offense is considered a felony, and you may pay a fine of up to $25,000, jail time of 1 to 7 years, and a permanent driver’s license revocation.


read more